I want Keith Johnson’s job

As a buyer at large for Anthropologie, Keith Johnson’s travels are chronicled on the Sundance Channel’s “Man Shops Globe”.  So far in the series, he has traveled to France, South Africa, Turkey, Holland, Belgium, India and the UK.  The final two episodes will cover Tunisia and Argentina.  Keith shops in these fantastic locations for one of a kind and inspirational pieces for the Anthropologie stores.  He does everything with an amazing sense of style and is always accompanied by a “handler”, a person that speaks the native language that is tasked with finding unique product and is usually in charge of negotiating the price.  From the first time I walked into Anthropologie several years ago, I have been intrigued and a bit confused by their product offering.  They have a unique mix of clothing, home furnishings, home accessories , beauty products and books that seems like it would be hard to do on the retail chain scale.   Along with Keith, Anthropologie must employ some exceptionally visionary people.  They are known for their unique window displays, which are many times created with recycled and uniquely reused items.  A few of them are shown below.

Anthropologie has created a special collection of products, that is part retro, part current, part rustic, part modern, some found-one of a kind and some mass produced items.  It is for the consumer that wants a vintage look, but doesn’t want to stalk the goodwill, salvation army and flea markets to find unique pieces.  Here are some photos I took of inspiring items a few weeks ago when I was in the store.

The merchandisers built a fireplace made of stacked strips of plywood, it was such a cool idea (again, I can't fathom the creative minds they employ). I suggested one of these for my house for the holidays, my husband looked at me like I was nuts!

I am sure this chair was inspired by something Keith found in an out of the way French antique store or some other glamourous spot. The scale (low and wide) is so unique.

Normally chairs have a rushed seat, this one is completely made out of woven rush.

My love, the Tolix chair, in a copper tinted finish. I'll take 4, thanks!

Finally, here is my wish list from the Anthropologie website.  Hard to tell if these items are inspired by Keith’s finds, but they are cool none-the-less.

PS- Keith, call me next time you need a traveling partner.  I am not sure what I could add, but I am pretty good at carrying luggage.

PPS- Keith, can I at least come to your Christmas party (His show is sponsored by Stella Artois and Ferrero, what better party snacks than beer and chocolate?!)

About sanctuaryhome

The Sanctuary Home blog was created in May 2009 to augment my interior design business, Jamie Foley Interiors. Below is the design philosophy that guides my business and this blog. A beautiful house isn’t a home unless it speaks to its occupants and fits their lifestyle in appropriate and unique ways. I believe that design can be approached in two ways. The first is from the gut, what feels right. The second is from a logical methodical perspective. I design using the second approach. I feel that having a reason why a piece is selected, having similar elements in the room or throughout the home makes it feel unified even if the similarities are not obvious to the casual observer. It makes a home feel special and contemplative. Building the interior of a home is a process. I create a plan for investment pieces that will last a lifetime, filling in with less expensive, less important pieces that can be replaced when they wear out or look dated with additional investment pieces or of the moment trendy items that update the home. Using vintage or antique pieces with new grounds a home. If everything in a home is new, it feels like a model home, it has no soul. If you use all old pieces, if feels like you live in a garage sale. The beauty is in the mix. Creating timeless interiors involves using pieces from all design styles. It gives the home a layered look and allows a home to look as if the pieces have been acquired over time. Using furniture from all one style or period makes a home look fussy and intimidating. I look forward to working with clients with all budgets and design aesthetics to create a home that special to their family. I encourage clients to express their individuality throughout the entire design process, this ensures your home fits your needs and will delight you every time you walk through the door.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I want Keith Johnson’s job

  1. Raina says:

    I’m convinced that Anthro’s visual team is divinely inspired.

Leave a Reply

