Parisian Jazz Club

I was contacted a few months ago to do an e-design for a basement media rom in a historical tudor home.  The client is a big fan of repurposing vintage and antique furniture.   She is also a journalist, so I received these wonderfully descriptive, narrative emails.  My responses always felt like jumbled, bumbling, rambling messes in comparison.  She and her husband traveled extensively through Europe and had a painting of the Eiffel Tower they purchased in Paris that they wanted to use in the room.  The room needed to walk a fine line between man cave and stylish spot for the couple to entertain.  My concept was “Parisian Jazz Club”, but had to be lightened up a bit so it didn’t feel like a dungeon.  The client already had a sofa, loveseat and eames lounge chair to work with and some fabrics found on ebay for a great price.  I recommended she upholster the sofa and loveseat in a fabric and style similar to the one below.  I created this first scheme or “mood board” to send to the client to see if I was on the right track.  The feedback I received was that it need a bit more color, drama…vavavoom.

Preliminary Design

Below is the final design.  As you will see, the design didn’t change much, I replaced the small amount of aqua with a healthy dose of purple.  It doesn’t show much in the mood board, but is more evident in the moulding details below.

Final Design

The furniture plan presented a some challenges.  I wanted to give them as much seating as possible, the wiring for the TV had already been placed and they wanted a ton of storage for DVDs.  Below, you can see I placed the asian inspired DVD cabinet behind the sofa.  Because the sofa is long and low, a good portion of this pretty piece of furniture is still seen.  I originally selected a small coffee table, but it just wouldn’t fit.  Instead, I selected two tufted round ottomans.  This will allow for additional seating, if needed, or a spot to put up their feet.

Floorplan

Here are the moulding detail options I designed.  The small squares at the top of wall #1 elevation are glass blocks.  Inset in the moulding will be beautiful aubergine grass cloth.

Moulding Option 1

Moulding Option 2

Lastly, a little peek into how my brain operates.  I sketched and colored this of the wall detail shown above during the middle of the night.  Sometimes I have to capture my vision at the strangest times.  

I hope you have enjoyed this peek into how an e-design works.  In order to protect the integrity of the design and my relationship with my clients, I don’t provide my sources.  However, I provide these images as an introduction to my services and abilities.  Please contact me, by clicking on the link in the sidebar, should you wish to have Jamie Foley Interiors design a space that is uniquely yours.

About sanctuaryhome

The Sanctuary Home blog was created in May 2009 to augment my interior design business, Jamie Foley Interiors. Below is the design philosophy that guides my business and this blog. A beautiful house isn’t a home unless it speaks to its occupants and fits their lifestyle in appropriate and unique ways. I believe that design can be approached in two ways. The first is from the gut, what feels right. The second is from a logical methodical perspective. I design using the second approach. I feel that having a reason why a piece is selected, having similar elements in the room or throughout the home makes it feel unified even if the similarities are not obvious to the casual observer. It makes a home feel special and contemplative. Building the interior of a home is a process. I create a plan for investment pieces that will last a lifetime, filling in with less expensive, less important pieces that can be replaced when they wear out or look dated with additional investment pieces or of the moment trendy items that update the home. Using vintage or antique pieces with new grounds a home. If everything in a home is new, it feels like a model home, it has no soul. If you use all old pieces, if feels like you live in a garage sale. The beauty is in the mix. Creating timeless interiors involves using pieces from all design styles. It gives the home a layered look and allows a home to look as if the pieces have been acquired over time. Using furniture from all one style or period makes a home look fussy and intimidating. I look forward to working with clients with all budgets and design aesthetics to create a home that special to their family. I encourage clients to express their individuality throughout the entire design process, this ensures your home fits your needs and will delight you every time you walk through the door.
This entry was posted in Design Perspective, E-design, Jamie Foley Interiors. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Parisian Jazz Club

  1. keri hoffman says:

    where can I find the fab bar cart?

    • sanctuaryhome says:

      I believe I found that bar cart on 1stdibs.com just as an example of what would work in the room. Locally you could find something similar at Lee Alex Decor on South Broadway. I can be on the look out for something like that if you want.

Leave a Reply

