More Arizona Recap

Another highlight of our trip to Arizona was a meal at Liberty Market.

Photo via Liberty Market website. I must have deleted the one I took.

Originally opened in 1935 as a grocery store, it has evolved into a casual restaurant with a great vibe.  Below are a few photos of design details.

You know I swooned when I saw 20-30 tolix stools all in a row at the community table. I tried to figure out a way to create a distraction long enough to sneak 2 or 3 out to the car.

Totally on trend, the lighting in the restaurant is primarily Edison bulb fixtures.

via Liberty Market website. I didn't see this fixture and tile, but I couldn't resist posting it.

I ordered the Picnic salad, which was delicious.  But the reason I am writing this post is the Roasted Sweet Potato Salad – AMAZING.  I am honestly drooling while I am writing this. When the chef stopped by the table, I mentioned how much I loved it.  He said there were a variety of recipes written on the wall of the second stall of the bathroom (???).  I ventured off with my camera.

via Liberty Market website.

After spending way too long in the stall reading all the posted recipes, I couldn’t find the one I was looking for (probably due to my self-conciousness of going into the bathroom with a camera with the sole purpose of reading the walls).

A little research on the internet, and I found this:

Roasted Sweet Potato Salad

Sweet potatoes are super nutritious and extremely versatile. We love baked sweet potato fries and whipped sweet potatoes with cinnamon and butter, but have you tried them cold? Liberty Market in Gilbert has this awesome sweet potato salad that I have been working to recreate. I feel I am close enough to call it just as good even if it is not quite the same. It is slightly smoky, salty and sweet with a little kick.

The flavors take a few hours to marry, so this is best to make a day or two ahead. I love having a bowl of it ready to serve up for a quick snack or a side with lunch. I think these sweet potatoes would even be great as a thanksgiving side instead of the ewwy gooey marshmallow kind. This would free up oven space for that nice free range turkey and yummy homemade butter rolls!

Chipotle peppers are spicy (they are smoked jalapeños), you can adjust it to your taste. One pepper is just enough to notice, but not at all overpowering. I get the peppers in a can and puree the whole thing, then freeze it in tablespoon portions since I never use a whole can at once and never use them whole, it is a convenient way to use them. 1 tablespoon is equal to about 1 pepper.

3 pounds sweet potatoes

¼ cup extra virgin olive oil

1 chipotle pepper in adobo sauce, pureed

1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar

2 teaspoons salt

¼ teaspoon pepper

1/3 cup dried cranberries

½ cup pecans, chopped

2 tablespoons chopped fresh chives

Preheat oven to 400 degrees (convection works best). Peel and cut potatoes into 1” pieces. Toss to coat with 2 tablespoon of olive oil and arrange in a single layer on two baking sheets. Roast for 35 minutes. Mix 2 tablespoons oil, pepper puree, vinegar, salt and pepper to make a dressing. Combine cranberries, pecans, chives and cooked sweet potatoes in a medium bowl, drizzle with dressing, cover and refrigerate until chilled.

I haven’t tried it yet, but if it is half as good as the stuff at Liberty Market, I am a happy girl!

I didn’t get any great photos of our day at Chicago Cubs Spring Training, but I thought this beer vendor was worth posting…

About sanctuaryhome

The Sanctuary Home blog was created in May 2009 to augment my interior design business, Jamie Foley Interiors. Below is the design philosophy that guides my business and this blog. A beautiful house isn’t a home unless it speaks to its occupants and fits their lifestyle in appropriate and unique ways. I believe that design can be approached in two ways. The first is from the gut, what feels right. The second is from a logical methodical perspective. I design using the second approach. I feel that having a reason why a piece is selected, having similar elements in the room or throughout the home makes it feel unified even if the similarities are not obvious to the casual observer. It makes a home feel special and contemplative. Building the interior of a home is a process. I create a plan for investment pieces that will last a lifetime, filling in with less expensive, less important pieces that can be replaced when they wear out or look dated with additional investment pieces or of the moment trendy items that update the home. Using vintage or antique pieces with new grounds a home. If everything in a home is new, it feels like a model home, it has no soul. If you use all old pieces, if feels like you live in a garage sale. The beauty is in the mix. Creating timeless interiors involves using pieces from all design styles. It gives the home a layered look and allows a home to look as if the pieces have been acquired over time. Using furniture from all one style or period makes a home look fussy and intimidating. I look forward to working with clients with all budgets and design aesthetics to create a home that special to their family. I encourage clients to express their individuality throughout the entire design process, this ensures your home fits your needs and will delight you every time you walk through the door.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More Arizona Recap

  1. Raina says:

    That sounds delicious!

    Bookmarking this page…

Leave a Reply

