Really??

Remember a few weeks ago when I said I wanted to design a room around this sofa from Craigslist?

This weekend I met with a new client who was thinking she wanted to have an orange and pink color scheme in her living room.  Ask and you shall receive, right?  Now I haven’t seen the space yet, but I know the client is on a budget and we briefly went over her needs

1) New dog friendly sofa (probably not the CL one above)

2) Media Storage

3) New fun rug

4) Different dining area solution

5) Lighting

6) Art, accessories

I thought I would share my preliminary work.  Now, this tends to be the phase where I beat a client over the head with the color scheme or concept.  At the end, the color scheme will be more subtle, not everything will be themed.  These are just the ideas I throw at the client to see what sticks.

I love this whole wall solution for TV and media from Ikea.

A couple mod-ish chairs from CB2

...with lumbar pillows from Jonathan Adler

A sparkly pop with a Martini table from West Elm

For budget purposes I am going to recommend a flokati rug

If money were less of an issue, I would love to see this option from Jonathan Adler

or maybe this one

I always think lighting is an opportunity to use something funky or vintage, so this basic from Crate and Barrel will probably get the ax.

I always LOVE the idea of a articulated floor lamp. The way that is skews the scale of a room is great. Maybe this one will make the cut

This bar height table will serve as a spot to entertain and as a "landing strip" (I hate that term but can't think of a better one right now).

Sigh....orange tolix stools. These are from europe, no idea if I can get these to the US for less than a fortune. If not, I will find some vintage/salvaged stools and have them powdercoated.

Another opportunity for pattern over the dining area. I custom designed this on at Alluminare.com, the gray in the image is actually silver.

Just a couple ideas for art. Art is a hugely personal thing, so these will probably be changed to suit the client's taste.

Love this one from ugallery though.

Everything above was from major retailers.  Part of my role as a designer is to source things from unique places and vendors.  After our initial meeting where we refine the design, I will dig much deeper into my sources and find the client more special, less mass marketed items.  I want every project I do to have a few one of a kind, no one else has them, items.  This is easy to do with original art, reupholstering/reinventing vintage items or a few yards of fabric to make special pillows.

Here are just a few vintage items that I think would rock this project

Hermes orange cabinets from 1stdibs - of course, this will be recreated on a shoestring.

Remember this little beauty from Craigslist. A little paint, and it would be a superstar in this room. While the rest of the room is a bit Mod in feel, I like that this would shake it up a bit.

Okay, enough show and tell.  I hope you enjoyed a peak into my initial design process.  There is, of course, more technical stuff like space planning that I won’t share.  Hopefully I can share more as the project progresses.

I love working with clients with all budgets and design aesthetics to create a home that special to their family.  I encourage clients to express their individuality throughout the entire design process, this ensures your home fits your needs and will delight you every time you walk through the door.  Email me at jamie@jamiefoleyinteriors.com for e-design rates or if you are local, to arrange for a consultation.

About sanctuaryhome

The Sanctuary Home blog was created in May 2009 to augment my interior design business, Jamie Foley Interiors. Below is the design philosophy that guides my business and this blog. A beautiful house isn’t a home unless it speaks to its occupants and fits their lifestyle in appropriate and unique ways. I believe that design can be approached in two ways. The first is from the gut, what feels right. The second is from a logical methodical perspective. I design using the second approach. I feel that having a reason why a piece is selected, having similar elements in the room or throughout the home makes it feel unified even if the similarities are not obvious to the casual observer. It makes a home feel special and contemplative. Building the interior of a home is a process. I create a plan for investment pieces that will last a lifetime, filling in with less expensive, less important pieces that can be replaced when they wear out or look dated with additional investment pieces or of the moment trendy items that update the home. Using vintage or antique pieces with new grounds a home. If everything in a home is new, it feels like a model home, it has no soul. If you use all old pieces, if feels like you live in a garage sale. The beauty is in the mix. Creating timeless interiors involves using pieces from all design styles. It gives the home a layered look and allows a home to look as if the pieces have been acquired over time. Using furniture from all one style or period makes a home look fussy and intimidating. I look forward to working with clients with all budgets and design aesthetics to create a home that special to their family. I encourage clients to express their individuality throughout the entire design process, this ensures your home fits your needs and will delight you every time you walk through the door.
This entry was posted in Design Perspective, Jamie Foley Interiors. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Really??

  1. Martha K says:

    Oooh, sigh. Your client is a lucky person indeed to have you at the helm! Terrific ideas, I can picture it already!

  2. Jeanne says:

    That room would be one happy, energetic space. I hope you get to make it happen for your client.

  3. Seriously, your client asked for that color scheme? You are one lucky designer to have such an open-minded client.

    I love everything you’ve picked out, and not because I own a WE Martini Table. Oh, and I’ve wanted that Adler pillow for like ever.

  4. Bailey says:

    Hi Jamie,

    So glad you’re diggin Paul Sigurdson and William Mercado’s work – they’re two top notch painters. Just thought I’d let you know that Ugallery offers a designer discount. Feel free to contact me if you’re interested – bailey@ugallery.com – and I can give you more details.

    Cheers, Bailey (Ugallery)

  5. Pingback: Beyond a random collection of ideas | Sanctuary Home

Leave a Reply

