Thanksgiving Tablescape

In preparation for Thanksgiving this year, I revisited last year’s preparations and tablescape.  Hope you enjoy the quick review.

The front door wreath is from a gazillion years ago. Inspired by Martha, it was a ton of work but worth it for longevity. Let me know if you want construction details and maybe I will do a little tutorial. The front porch will probably look similar this fall, with the addition of a couple pumpkins and a new doormat.

I set up a bar cart with prosecco, vodka, a shaker for martinis and snacky nuts. Drooling just thinking about those wasabi almonds! Beer was relegated to the back porch.

I used pear green fiestaware, mixed in decorative ceramic pears and tiny little sugar pears as placecard holders. The table cloth is a simple white cloth with a couple yards of burlap. This photo is pre-candle lighting.

Closer up, post candle lighting. I forgot, I also layered a embroidered linen table square on the table. Here you can also see my grandmother's silver and serving utensils waiting for something to come out of the oven. The napkins are just flour sack towels (I get new ones for a dinner like this and then turn them into dish towels).

Water glasses and wine glasses are from my wedding registry at Crate and Barrel. You can also see my fiestaware gravy boat.

Here is the kids table stuck in the corner to keep as much room in the walkway as possible. I opted for butcher paper for the table cloth, some crayons for impromptu art projects, acrylic dishes and again, real pears for placecard holders.

 

Such a fun day, can’t wait to share this years event!

 

I am linking to Between Naps On the Porches weekly feature – Tablescape Thursday.  Be sure to stop by and take a look at the rest of the loveliness.

About sanctuaryhome

The Sanctuary Home blog was created in May 2009 to augment my interior design business, Jamie Foley Interiors. Below is the design philosophy that guides my business and this blog. A beautiful house isn’t a home unless it speaks to its occupants and fits their lifestyle in appropriate and unique ways. I believe that design can be approached in two ways. The first is from the gut, what feels right. The second is from a logical methodical perspective. I design using the second approach. I feel that having a reason why a piece is selected, having similar elements in the room or throughout the home makes it feel unified even if the similarities are not obvious to the casual observer. It makes a home feel special and contemplative. Building the interior of a home is a process. I create a plan for investment pieces that will last a lifetime, filling in with less expensive, less important pieces that can be replaced when they wear out or look dated with additional investment pieces or of the moment trendy items that update the home. Using vintage or antique pieces with new grounds a home. If everything in a home is new, it feels like a model home, it has no soul. If you use all old pieces, if feels like you live in a garage sale. The beauty is in the mix. Creating timeless interiors involves using pieces from all design styles. It gives the home a layered look and allows a home to look as if the pieces have been acquired over time. Using furniture from all one style or period makes a home look fussy and intimidating. I look forward to working with clients with all budgets and design aesthetics to create a home that special to their family. I encourage clients to express their individuality throughout the entire design process, this ensures your home fits your needs and will delight you every time you walk through the door.
This entry was posted in Entertaining, Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Thanksgiving Tablescape

  1. Oh my goodness, I love the kids table!!!!! That is an amazing idea. Love too the ribbons on the napkins and the apples are darling. Love how you reuse your napkins, that is a great idea too. So many great ideas, I am subscribing to your feed!

  2. Joni says:

    Beautiful tables and wreath. I love how you did the napkins on both tables. Smart idea to have crayons and a table you can write on. Joni

  3. Sheila says:

    You just thought of everything, and I love how you have the craft paper on the kids table along with crayons! Children would just love that. And I love the deep pops of green on the fiesta plates and the napkins tied with their pretty ribbon with the pears for placecard holders. And I like the burlap juxtaposed against the white linen.

    Happy Tablescape Thursday…

    XO,

    Sheila 🙂

  4. Sheila says:

    Oh, and Jamie… I nearly forgot my favorite part. Your dog! So cute!

  5. I love the way the dog is sitting there with such great anticipation. It’s as if he’s saying, “Hurry up and get here, people, so that I can get to the leftovers!!!” Can’t wait to see this year’s table! Have fun with it!

  6. I love the kids’ table – so smart!

  7. Julie Size says:

    Enjoyed my visit to your blog!!

    Julie

  8. Gloria says:

    Great tablescape! Absolutely loved the kids’ table. I think I would like to sit THERE with the new crayons!
    Best regards,
    Gloria

  9. Cherry Kay says:

    Lovely hurricanes…Chapman? I really like your idea to use new dish towels as napkins and then turn them into towels. Your table is lovely with the Fiesta and the clever and effective use of pears. Thank you for sharing your charming ideas. Cherry Kay

Leave a Reply

