Outdoor Inspiration

If there were ever an area of my home that is not a sanctuary, it is the yard.  My husband and I are most definitely lacking green thumbs.  This point was driven home a few weekends ago when I stopped by a friends house.  Her husband was out fertilizing their lawn, my husband was a good month away from worrying about anything of the sort.

We have several problems:

1) Apathy – we want it to look nice, but neither of us want to toil away our weekends baking in the sun.  Which brings us to…

2) The intense Colorado sun – Our back yard is south facing.  While we have planted a couple trees and several bushes, it will be years before they offer any noticeable shade, the grass gets absolutely cooked during July and August.

3) Crappy soil – we have yet to have this confirmed by chemistry (although that has been recommended).  I can just tell, we are fighting a losing battle with the grass.

In the past year I have made several acquaintances that are landscapers and landscape designers.  I feel like we are beyond DIY and need some expert help.  Here are some inspiration photos I have been collecting.

So, The plan is to eliminate or nearly eliminate the grass, getting some lush greenery that doesn’t use a ton of water.

Also, I need a little outdoor furniture.  Last summer we scored a pair of outdoor chairs and a loveseat at an end of season sale.  Now we need a coffee/cocktail table and a small bistro set.

Perhaps this table from CB2

Or this one from Crate and Barrel, a better fit with our existing furniture

For dining, perhaps this collection from West Elm

Or this table from Ikea

With this chair – too bad I don’t think the Denver Ikea will be open before the end of summer.

I also need a great rug.

Maybe this one from Rugs USA

Or this one from Dash and Albert

I adore this peacock design from Sawgrass Mills

Tons of decisions to be made, tons of work to be done, hopefully by the end of the summer, we will be ready for this –

About sanctuaryhome

The Sanctuary Home blog was created in May 2009 to augment my interior design business, Jamie Foley Interiors. Below is the design philosophy that guides my business and this blog. A beautiful house isn’t a home unless it speaks to its occupants and fits their lifestyle in appropriate and unique ways. I believe that design can be approached in two ways. The first is from the gut, what feels right. The second is from a logical methodical perspective. I design using the second approach. I feel that having a reason why a piece is selected, having similar elements in the room or throughout the home makes it feel unified even if the similarities are not obvious to the casual observer. It makes a home feel special and contemplative. Building the interior of a home is a process. I create a plan for investment pieces that will last a lifetime, filling in with less expensive, less important pieces that can be replaced when they wear out or look dated with additional investment pieces or of the moment trendy items that update the home. Using vintage or antique pieces with new grounds a home. If everything in a home is new, it feels like a model home, it has no soul. If you use all old pieces, if feels like you live in a garage sale. The beauty is in the mix. Creating timeless interiors involves using pieces from all design styles. It gives the home a layered look and allows a home to look as if the pieces have been acquired over time. Using furniture from all one style or period makes a home look fussy and intimidating. I look forward to working with clients with all budgets and design aesthetics to create a home that special to their family. I encourage clients to express their individuality throughout the entire design process, this ensures your home fits your needs and will delight you every time you walk through the door.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Outdoor Inspiration

  1. I so get the apathy and lack of green thumbs. I’m with you on both counts. Thank goodness our HOA manages our green space or else it would look like the surface of the moon with a few cute wicker chairs.

  2. Our yard is completely canopied by trees, so we have NO grass… it’s like a dirty wasteland. I so wish somebody would take control of the crappiness.

Leave a Reply

