Client Work

I really am trying to share more of the design work I do around my own house.  Right now there is a valance draped across my dining table.  I finished it last weekend and now can’t find the brackets we bought to mount it, so instead you are getting more client work.

This “client” is my husband’s best friend.  He is the Turk to my Husband’s JD.  In the past year, he has been through a divorce and has been bunking at his parent’s house while he disolved everything financially.  I lured him to my design services saying he could have a pool table and a potato chip dispenser in his dining room instead of a table.  I was only half serious.  I mostly meant that I knew he wouldn’t be formally entertaining, so he might as well use the space that fits his lifestyle.

He isn’t actually buying a home until July or August, and as I said in a previous post, I encouraged him to pass his options by me.  Being involved with a designer during the purchase of a home or property is always so much more rewarding than starting that relationship after you have already moved in.  To give him some conceptual ideas, I created some design boards.

With many male clients, I have a hard time figuring out their style.  Their existing furniture is usually picked out by a girlfriend, former spouse, sister or mother, so as long as it serves its purpose, they give little thought to if it inspires them aesthetically.

First, I created some boards that made me bored.  They were bland and could have been boards for a model home.  Thankfully, last time he was in town , he and I took an impromptu architectural tour while my husband was on a work conference call.  I discovered he liked the look of mid-century modern (I had to tell him that is what it is called), but he also liked the older four-square homes that remind him of his Chicago roots.  The concept for his house will be “Nostalgic Bachelor with a sprinkle of Texas Cowboy, oh yeah and kid-friendly”.

Here are my concept photos, don’t ask me how they fit the concept statement, they just do.

And the preliminary design boards –

A couple things to note:

1) Ceiling Fans – In many designers books, these are a big no-no.  This guy lives in Houston and would argue me into a corner if I suggested that he didn’t need fans.  So, I found the best looking fans I could.  As I said, these are preliminary boards that will be modified based on budged (and this guy is cheap!) and space planning.

2) Dark colored rugs – kid friendly

3) Slipcovered sofa – kid friendly (this will likely turn into something leather, but I was trying to break him away from the living room full of leather he wants).

4) This guy has never set eyes on a design blog, shelter magazine or Restoration Hardware catalog, so if he digs the look of the subway roll, I am gonna give it to him whether it is passe or not.

5) The rest of the art used in the space is also personal, a couple vintage photos from the Texas A&M archives, some postcards showing scenes of Houston back in the 1940’s or 50’s and a vintage Indian motorcycle poster.

6) Yep, he gets a pool table.  It will be a CL find, not this $28,000 beauty from 1stdibs, but it works for concept communication.

So, this will probably be a late August install (when Houston is hideously HOT).  I will document as much as possible and as much as is flattering.  Last time I was there (in August), I was so hot, makeup melted off me and all the photos of me look like I am fresh out of the shower because of my sweaty flat hair.

Have a great weekend!  I have wonderful plans, including wedding dress shopping with a co-worker, possibly a new shelter dog for my mom, coffee with a friend and a girls play date with some old friends.  Oh, and I gotta see “Bridesmaids”!

About sanctuaryhome

The Sanctuary Home blog was created in May 2009 to augment my interior design business, Jamie Foley Interiors. Below is the design philosophy that guides my business and this blog. A beautiful house isn’t a home unless it speaks to its occupants and fits their lifestyle in appropriate and unique ways. I believe that design can be approached in two ways. The first is from the gut, what feels right. The second is from a logical methodical perspective. I design using the second approach. I feel that having a reason why a piece is selected, having similar elements in the room or throughout the home makes it feel unified even if the similarities are not obvious to the casual observer. It makes a home feel special and contemplative. Building the interior of a home is a process. I create a plan for investment pieces that will last a lifetime, filling in with less expensive, less important pieces that can be replaced when they wear out or look dated with additional investment pieces or of the moment trendy items that update the home. Using vintage or antique pieces with new grounds a home. If everything in a home is new, it feels like a model home, it has no soul. If you use all old pieces, if feels like you live in a garage sale. The beauty is in the mix. Creating timeless interiors involves using pieces from all design styles. It gives the home a layered look and allows a home to look as if the pieces have been acquired over time. Using furniture from all one style or period makes a home look fussy and intimidating. I look forward to working with clients with all budgets and design aesthetics to create a home that special to their family. I encourage clients to express their individuality throughout the entire design process, this ensures your home fits your needs and will delight you every time you walk through the door.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Client Work

  1. Pingback: H-Town Craigslist |

Leave a Reply

