What A Week!

The past week was pretty awesome.  I started the week with a job interview.  Over the past few months, I have made some conclusions.  1) I am a designer and not a business person.  I strive to be someone who enjoys financial statements nearly as much as I like wallpaper, it just isn’t me.  2) Our family really needs the steady income of a regular paycheck (don’t most families?) and 3) I read some really discouraging statistics about how something like 5% of interior designers are actually thriving/prospering as independent designers, 15% are making money, but rely on the income of a spouse or partner for the majority of the household income and the rest are either working for a design firm, have a second job to supplement their income as a designer or are working outside of the interior design field or are living barely paycheck to paycheck.  (Those statistics are to the best of my recollection, I can’t seem to find the article again, great journalism I know).  More on that later.

Monday, I saw this:

 From Here

And this:

Really Pottery Barn?  With all your stylists and people paid to come up with creative ideas, you had to rip off a bloggers room?  I don’t know Janell, but I would imagine she would have been more flattered if you had contacted her about her design and asked permission to re-create it for your catalog or even better, use her room for the photo shoot.

Anyway, this photo:

made me want to incorporate one of these into my backyard plans

Tuesday, I cleaned my house like a mad woman.  I hate, hate, hate to deep clean my house and prefer to believe that the cleaning service we hired is doing a sufficient job.  I am not complaining about their work, but they don’t get behind the refrigerator, sweep inside the coat closet, use a q-tip on the grout in the tub, you know the serious deep cleaning stuff.  We were having overnight company on Wednesday, it was time for a spring, I mean, mid-summer cleaning.  Part of my fanaticism might have been caused by my nerves waiting to hear on the aforementioned job.

The new Rue Magazine was released on Tuesday.  I saw these:

Which reminded me of these:

Yep, this is a little glimpse into my house. I had considered reupholstering these, now that my cool vision has been confirmed by a magazine, I may just add a layer or two of batting and try to re-apply this fabric to make them look a little nicer.

Also from Rue:

Someone was paying attention during design fundamentals during the shape, form and texture lesson

And, I heard about the job.  More about that later.

Wednesday, Matchbook Magazine came out.  Mostly uninspiring, I don’t think I am their target audience.  But I did find a couple things I liked:

I've been trying to figure out how to do this hair.

I adore this tunic.

I made this pie along with homemade whipped cream.  A delicious summer treat!

I found this justification for my furniture hoarding:

Thursday was a complete waste.  I didn’t have any commitments, so I took a mental health day.  What a wonderful feeling to have a clean house, no one expecting anything from you, so you can just be a couch potato.

In the evening, we had my mom over for some swedish meatballs thanks to the newly opened Ikea bistro

and to watch THE season premiere:

   

Friday, I had the privilege of going to the Denver Botanic Gardens with an expert.  It was the first time I had been there where I didn’t just casually walk through thinking “that’s pretty”.  This time I learned about plants, made mental lists of what I want to incorporate at my house.  It was so inspiring!

Friday night, we went to look at a house for sale.  We aren’t ready to buy something new, but I couldn’t pass up looking at this one.  5 acres, a 5000 square foot house, amazing views, all for $250,000.  The catch?  Someone had started a remodel and never finished.  It was a disaster, the roofing was only partially done which had caused some water damage inside, no flooring, the kitchen is gutted, everything would need to be done….a designers dream.  Sigh…maybe we’ll win the lottery.

Saturday morning I woke up after having a dream where my husband and I were having a discussion about our personal finances with the Kardashians.  Yep, I might be insane.  Any dream analysts out there?

Then I saw this blog post:

The homeowner and author of midmodredo, Lesley, is truly a pleasure to work with.  She and I have such an easy relationship.  I was excited and honored to be mentioned in one of her posts.

So.. the job.  I accepted a job this week that will require I no longer actively pursue outside design work.  It will be working with products that I am proud to stand behind, high quality, ethically produced and heirloom quality.  I won’t mention the company name here because I have no idea if they want to be mentioned here.  Let’s just say they are a locally owned company that supports charities that I support and have a business model that I am excited to be a part of.  As I said before, I get to design with out the stress of managing a business.  I don’t know how this will affect my blog, I would imagine that you will see more personal projects and design stories.

How was your week?

About sanctuaryhome

The Sanctuary Home blog was created in May 2009 to augment my interior design business, Jamie Foley Interiors. Below is the design philosophy that guides my business and this blog. A beautiful house isn’t a home unless it speaks to its occupants and fits their lifestyle in appropriate and unique ways. I believe that design can be approached in two ways. The first is from the gut, what feels right. The second is from a logical methodical perspective. I design using the second approach. I feel that having a reason why a piece is selected, having similar elements in the room or throughout the home makes it feel unified even if the similarities are not obvious to the casual observer. It makes a home feel special and contemplative. Building the interior of a home is a process. I create a plan for investment pieces that will last a lifetime, filling in with less expensive, less important pieces that can be replaced when they wear out or look dated with additional investment pieces or of the moment trendy items that update the home. Using vintage or antique pieces with new grounds a home. If everything in a home is new, it feels like a model home, it has no soul. If you use all old pieces, if feels like you live in a garage sale. The beauty is in the mix. Creating timeless interiors involves using pieces from all design styles. It gives the home a layered look and allows a home to look as if the pieces have been acquired over time. Using furniture from all one style or period makes a home look fussy and intimidating. I look forward to working with clients with all budgets and design aesthetics to create a home that special to their family. I encourage clients to express their individuality throughout the entire design process, this ensures your home fits your needs and will delight you every time you walk through the door.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What A Week!

  1. Sue Cho says:

    Hi Jamie,

    Just moved to Denver and have been following your blog for the last few months in order to get to know Denver. I love your posts.

    I was curious about the house that you mentioned on July 31st. If you aren’t planning to pursue it, I’d love to find out more about it. Where is it located and who is selling it?

    Thanks!

    Sue

  2. sanctuaryhome says:

    Sue,

    I sent you the info for the house via email. If it works out for you, I would love to hear about it (perhaps feature it on the blog!).

    Jamie

Leave a Reply

