Absolutely Nothing to do with Design

I find as I get older (by older I mean mid-thirties), I do less and less to get out of my shell. A month or so ago, I hatched an idea.  It isn’t a new one, it has been done on other blogs…do 52 new things in a year.  You can see examples of this here and here.  Then I started to be realistic, I don’t think I can accomplish one a week.  Unlike the above bloggers, I have no plans to travel the world in the next year.  If that were the case, I would have oodles of opportunities for new experiences.  I have to focus on finding new experiences closer to home.  I decided to tackle 36 things, commemorating the 36th birthday I will be celebrating in 2012.  I selected some simple ideas, places close to home that I have never made the time to visit, some classes that have been on my mental to do list for far too long, some larger goals and some simple travel plans.  I intend to blog about these as I go.  Hopefully, those of you that come here for design inspiration will still find this interesting even if it is a bit off message for this blog.  These are left intentionally vague, because part of the process will be figuring out how to do some of  these (i.e.: unconditional compassion…..).

Without further ado, here is the list:

1)   Visit New Belgium Brewery

2)   Run a 5K

3)   Bake fresh bread

4)  Take a cake decorating class

5)   Take a floral design class

6)   Take a pilates class

7)   Go on a road trip with my husband

8)   Have a “perfect eating week”, my own version of a cleanse

9)   Volunteer

10)  Have a “random acts of kindness” day

11)  Go to a movie by myself

12)  Go to the symphony

13)  Vegetarian for a week

14) Go to the Denver Mint

15) Go to the top of Pikes Peak

16) Go to the Royal Gorge

17) Open a Pop-up furniture shop

18) Bake a real soufflé

19)  Learn Calligraphy

20)  Practice unconditional compassion for 1 week

21) Organize my office once and for all

22) Finish P90X

23) Portfolio shoot of our house

24) Go a week without sugar

25)  Throw a soiree

26) Take a hip hop dance class

27)  Ride a train to Glenwood Springs

28) Visit the Clyfford Still Museum

29) Take a jewelry making class

30) Go to High Tea at the Brown Palace

31) Get a head to toe makeover (hair, eyebrows, facial, manicure, pedicure and massage)

32) Canvas and Cocktails

33) Knit a scarf

34) Take a Barre Class

35) Purchase one Etsy outfit

36)

Number 36 has been empty for a few weeks.  Seems I am out of ideas.  I guess that leaves me the opportunity to be spontaneous, let something unexpected come into my life.  I’ll let you know what I come up with.

PS – Happy New Year!

About sanctuaryhome

The Sanctuary Home blog was created in May 2009 to augment my interior design business, Jamie Foley Interiors. Below is the design philosophy that guides my business and this blog. A beautiful house isn’t a home unless it speaks to its occupants and fits their lifestyle in appropriate and unique ways. I believe that design can be approached in two ways. The first is from the gut, what feels right. The second is from a logical methodical perspective. I design using the second approach. I feel that having a reason why a piece is selected, having similar elements in the room or throughout the home makes it feel unified even if the similarities are not obvious to the casual observer. It makes a home feel special and contemplative. Building the interior of a home is a process. I create a plan for investment pieces that will last a lifetime, filling in with less expensive, less important pieces that can be replaced when they wear out or look dated with additional investment pieces or of the moment trendy items that update the home. Using vintage or antique pieces with new grounds a home. If everything in a home is new, it feels like a model home, it has no soul. If you use all old pieces, if feels like you live in a garage sale. The beauty is in the mix. Creating timeless interiors involves using pieces from all design styles. It gives the home a layered look and allows a home to look as if the pieces have been acquired over time. Using furniture from all one style or period makes a home look fussy and intimidating. I look forward to working with clients with all budgets and design aesthetics to create a home that special to their family. I encourage clients to express their individuality throughout the entire design process, this ensures your home fits your needs and will delight you every time you walk through the door.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Absolutely Nothing to do with Design

  1. Pingback: #1 Accomplished |

Leave a Reply

