Where To Start…

Prepare for a stream of consciousness post.

1) A little over a month ago, my world was rocked.  All of my friends and family are healthy and fine.  The world rocking had to do with the loss of personal possessions.  Unfortunately, there is a lawsuit pending, so I can’t get into further details.  Suffice to say, my perspective on “stuff” is different.  I still love a pretty home, but it seems a little hollow.  I will keep blogging about homes and design projects.  My heart is just a little different.

2) I have the most spectacular friends. I read this article this week – http://www.nytimes.com/2012/07/15/fashion/the-challenge-of-making-friends-as-an-adult.html?pagewanted=2&_r=2&buffer_share=c7e61&utm_source=buffer.  It made me all that much more thankful for them. Mostly ladies, mostI have met since turning 30.  They are a diverse group, and that diversity offers me the greatest mix of women that can get mad with me, cry with me, laugh with me or have the rational pragmatic reaction when I seem to be at a loss for one.  I hope I offer them a fraction of the same.

Friends being friends

3)  We’re moving to Chicago.  After the difficult months(years in some cases) of job hunting, deteriorating home values and general malaise, my husband and I felt the need for a fresh start.  I know that location doesn’t create happiness, but a change of scenery can’t hurt.  I will be fully relocated at the end of next week.  The coming week is going to be full of poignant goodbyes and I can almost guarantee I will be in tears as I cross that border no longer a Colorado resident.  I leave this state, the state where I was born and raised, bruised and battered from tragedy.

Photo

I read another blog today and while I am not religious, I feel something can be taken from this no matter what your faith (or lack thereof).  http://andrewsporch.wordpress.com/2012/07/20/on-responding-to-tragedy/.  For those of you that don’t follow the link, the gist is this (my interpretation, not the original authors):

In responding to tragedy:

  • resist the urge to spout platitudes (“everything happens for a reason”)
  • resist the urge to engage in social analysis (this is not the time or place for furthering an agenda)
  • resist the urge to demonize the perpetrator (this person may have committed evil and devastating acts, but is clearly not a rational healthy being.  Anger directed at this person really has no value)
  • Determine how aid those affected however we can

I think that is all that is on my mind this weekend.  I will be back soon with some mood board plans I have for our new Chicago apartment, its gonna be fabulous – at least it is in my head.  Right now, my husband is unpacking the moving truck and I am waiting to hear how bad my hypothetical space planning was and how “cozy”  we will be.

I hope I haven’t lost tons of readers in the past few months of blog silence.  It’s great to be back!

About sanctuaryhome

The Sanctuary Home blog was created in May 2009 to augment my interior design business, Jamie Foley Interiors. Below is the design philosophy that guides my business and this blog. A beautiful house isn’t a home unless it speaks to its occupants and fits their lifestyle in appropriate and unique ways. I believe that design can be approached in two ways. The first is from the gut, what feels right. The second is from a logical methodical perspective. I design using the second approach. I feel that having a reason why a piece is selected, having similar elements in the room or throughout the home makes it feel unified even if the similarities are not obvious to the casual observer. It makes a home feel special and contemplative. Building the interior of a home is a process. I create a plan for investment pieces that will last a lifetime, filling in with less expensive, less important pieces that can be replaced when they wear out or look dated with additional investment pieces or of the moment trendy items that update the home. Using vintage or antique pieces with new grounds a home. If everything in a home is new, it feels like a model home, it has no soul. If you use all old pieces, if feels like you live in a garage sale. The beauty is in the mix. Creating timeless interiors involves using pieces from all design styles. It gives the home a layered look and allows a home to look as if the pieces have been acquired over time. Using furniture from all one style or period makes a home look fussy and intimidating. I look forward to working with clients with all budgets and design aesthetics to create a home that special to their family. I encourage clients to express their individuality throughout the entire design process, this ensures your home fits your needs and will delight you every time you walk through the door.
This entry was posted in Not Exactly Design Related, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Where To Start…

  1. Chicago’s gain is our inestimable loss.

  2. Tami McCall says:

    Sounds like you have been through it Jamie. May your new journey be filled with everything good that takes your breath away and may you experience God closer and more personal then ever. Listen for his voice… There is a verse in the Bible that says “He moves in the wind” Chicago is sooooo windy so you will probably experience God more there then here. LOL! Enjoy your new adventure!!!!

  3. Tami McCall says:

    Also Willow Creek Community Church is HUGE but really good! Not sure it’s close to where you will be living??? We lived 45 minutes from it but still made the drive a few times a month. Worth the drive for sure!

  4. Martha says:

    I second Raina’s comment. I am at a complete loss for words. Your friendship has been the best part of the last 4 years. ‘Nuff said.

  5. May the road rise to meet you,
    May the wind be always at your back,
    May the sun shine warm upon your face,
    The rains fall soft upon your fields and,
    Until we meet again,
    May God hold you in the palm of His hand.

    I can’t wait to hear all about Chicago and how you’ll dress your new nest! Many blessings,

Leave a Reply

